I love seafood, Top 10 seafood, seafood bisque recipes, tomato based soups, lobster chowder

I love seafood – my personal favorite top 10 seafood soups

I love seafood as much as anybody else. From sushi to crab cakes, I LOVE seafood. So it wasn’t  easy choosing my top 10 seafood soups. From seafood bisque recipes to tomato based soups like Manhattan clam chowder… So many choices and so little time to taste them all, so if I leave one out, my apologies.

Where to start? With the exception of my favorite I have no particular order, and I enjoy them all the same. Lets start with a very popular soup. Lobster bisque, in my opinion, is a highly overrated soup  and does not make my top 10 seafood soups. Its brother, lobster chowder, definitely makes the list however. The bisque is a lighter soup with very little substance as opposed to the lobster chowder, which contains not only lobster but potatoes, onions and celery and is a much heartier meal than the bisque.

Next I would go with the roasted red pepper, gouda and crab (or scallop). Both have a great red pepper flavor- not too overpowering though. Each one is a top 10 seafood soup of mine made for your enjoyment at The Soup Spot. All the professionals say seafood and cheese don’t mix, but I disagree; these soups are great!

On to some Cajun soups. Another 2 soups in my top 10 are shrimp etouffee and frog leg Creole. Both have a little spice, and when served over rice both are outstanding (and staples at The Soup Spot). Also in the Cajun category, we have gator gumbo. This has to be on the list. Even though it contains chicken and Andouille sausage I consider it to be a seafood soup. Gumbo is my favorite Cajun meal in general, but the gator gumbo  stands atop them all.

I can’t leave out Cream of crab, thickened with a blonde roux (unlike all seafood bisque recipes which are done with a cornstarch slurry). It is a much heartier soup with just as much flavor and is on my list of ten. Another would have to be shrimp gnocchi: a lighter, broth based soup with a strong garlic and white wine flavor containing my favorite pasta- gnocchi. With some spinach and parmesan cheese- Delicious.

Now we have come to my personal favorite soup of all time, let alone my favorite seafood soup: New England clam chowder. I love this soup so much that anywhere I go I order it, trying to find the best version; and my recipe is still the best in my opinion. It is the white clam chowder if you still don’t know by now (Ace Ventura).

All in all, I love seafood. All kinds of it, from clams and crabs to alligator and frog legs. Seafood is a great food for entrees, appetizers and soups. Come on down to the Soup Spot and enjoy some great seafood bisque recipes, or even lobster chowder. Whatever your top 10 seafood soups might be, the Soup Spot is sure to satisfy!

The Soup Spot
Specializing in fresh homemade soup made fresh daily
with the creativity and pride of our own chefs;
you will always find a soup that will hit the spot.
1014 North 3rd Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17102
Cross street is Herr.
Ph: 717-232-7687
Em:

pabayou@yahoo.com
The Soup Spot Website: www.pabayou.net

The Soup Spot Facebook:

www.facebook.com/thesoupspothbg
The Soup Spot WordPress: www.thesoupspotpa.wordpress.com
The Soup Spot Twitter: www.twitter.com/thesoupspotpa

About The Soup Spot PA

The Soup Spot has many tasty soups, sandwiches, salads and ice cream flavors that are available seven days a week as well as a great brunch on Sundays. Specializing in fresh homemade soup made fresh daily with the creativity and pride of our own chefs, you will always find a soup that will hit the spot. Chef Randy Straub applies an array of inventive approaches, a spectrum of different styles and an elegant touch to his world of soups. Balancing Spontaneity and Versatility, Randy creates and delivers hearty, homemade, fresh and filling soups that range from Cajun to Pennsylvania Dutch, vegetarian to Gourmet, hot to cold and every where in between. Experimenting with the classics, conceptualizing dishes and meals that can translate to soups as well as playing with the simplest recipes to the most complex, Randy's pride, patience and eagerness to explore, leaves customers with some of the most amazing soups. The Soup Spot Specializing in fresh homemade soup made fresh daily with the creativity and pride of our own chefs; you will always find a soup that will hit the spot. 1014 North 3rd Street Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17102 Cross street is Herr. Ph: 717-232-7687 Em: pabayou@yahoo.com The Soup Spot Website: www.pabayou.net The Soup Spot Facebook: www.facebook.com/thesoupspothbg The Soup Spot WordPress: www.thesoupspotpa.wordpress.com The Soup Spot Twitter: www.twitter.com/thesoupspotpa

Leave a Reply

